Please join us on September 20th, 2012 at 11:00am

for the dedication of the Ann Davey Masters Sculpture Garden

at Vic Thomas, Park, Roanoke, Virginia



Clean Valley Council

and the

The City of Roanoke


Welcome you to the dedication of

The Ann Davey Masters Memorial Sculpture Garden in

Vic Thomas Park

September 20, 2012 @ 11:00 am



Cary Lester, CVC President



Cristina Siegel, CVC Executive Director



David Bowers, Mayor, City of Roanoke


Project Background & Recognition of Artists

Amy Moorefield, Chair, Roanoke City Arts Commission



Larry Bechtel/Calling the Powers

Betty Branch/Annie’s Peace

Susan Ostaseski/Vertical Break


Thank Yous

Laura Wasko, ADM Committee Co-Chair


Ribbon Cutting

Led by Mayor Bowers


Project Background

The goal of the Ann Davey Masters Memorial project is to provide public art at Vic Thomas Park that will blend into the park’s design. The Ann D. Masters Memorial will represent Ann's enduring commitment to the arts, both as the former director of the Art Museum and her dedication to the environment with the Clean Valley Council. Vic Thomas Park is the most recently developed City of Roanoke park and is an addition to the Roanoke Valley Greenway system. Located off Memorial Avenue near Memorial Bridge, it connects to Wasena Park via a new Greenway footbridge. The theme and purpose of Vic Thomas Park is to promote our natural environment with design elements that blend into the ecosystems associated with the Roanoke River. The focus of the park is the creation of an informal space consisting of native trees, riparian friendly grasses, picnicking opportunities, trails, nature observation, unstructured play, and wildflower meadows; such a perfect and fitting location to honor Ann.


Artist Bios

Larry Bechtel

Betty Branch:

Paul Ostaseski


 Clean Valley Council Board

Cary Lester, President

Stephen McTigue, Vice President

Jim Vodnik, Secretary/Treasurer

Robert Bengtson

James Breakell           

Adam Cohen

Owen Grogan, Jr.

Ed Hacker

David Knicely

Carol Linkenhoker

Richard Maxwell

Anita McMillan

Bittle Porterfield, III

Amy Louise Reyer

Cindy Simonds

Amanda Spain

Laura Wasko


Roanoke City Council

David A. Bowers, Mayor

Court G. Rosen, Vice Mayor

David B. Trinkle

William D. Bestpitch

Raphael “Ray” E. Ferris

Sherman P. Lea

Anita J. Price


Sculpture Selection Panel

Adam Cohen

 Jim Crawford

Frank Eastburn

Rich Maxwell

Sandy Murray

Donnie Underwood

Laura Wasko

Ex Officio:

Susan Jennings

Print this page


Become a Volunteer at one of our upcoming events!

learn more
Become A Sponsor

Want to help Clean Valley Council make a difference? Become a sponsor today!

learn more

Make a donation and help support Clean Valley Council today.

learn more